Tuesday, March 31, 2009

New officers sworn in

Seven police patrol officer candidates have gotten their badges today when they were sworn in as Springfield's newest officers. They are Robert L. Johnson, Michael D. Phillips, Benjamin A. McGill, Michael J. Reidy Jr., Joseph E. Womble, Rachel D. Leggitt, and Timothy Jenkins.

“The addition of these officers is a continuation of our program to get more officers patrolling Springfield streets,” Mayor Davlin said. “I want to congratulate and welcome these new officers to the Springfield Police Department force.”

Springfield seeks Police candidates

Testing will soon begin which will lead to the hiring of new Springfield Police Patrol Officers. Potential candidates may pick up informational application packets anytime between 7:30 a.m. and 5:00 p.m. Monday through Friday at the Office of Human Resources, Room 309 in Municipal Center West, at Seventh and Monroe Streets. Completed applications and required documentation are now being accepted in the Office of Human Resources during normal business hours through May 8, 2009, at 5:00 p.m.

To download application form click HERE.